Pogorelov Group Distinctions (link)

Principal Investigator

Taras Pogorelov
Research Assistant Professor at the Department of Chemistry, the Center for Biophysics and Quantitative Biology, the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, a Faculty Affiliate at the National Center for Supercomputing Applications, and Senior Research Scientist at the School of Chemical Sciences, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Research Software Developers

Vadim Mustaev
Department  of Chemistry

Graduate Students

Kevin Cheng
Fellow, NSF Graduate Research
Fellow, Ford Foundation
Member, Graduate College Students Advising on Graduate Education (SAGE) Board, 2021
IBM Research Internship, 2022
GRC Board of Trustees Carl Storm Underrepresented Minority (CSURM) Fellowship, 2022

Shashank Shastry

Sepehr Alaeen
Biophysics, co-advised with Martin Gruebele.

Aingaran Bala Raman
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, co-advised with Baron Peters.

Immanuel (Mani) Schmidt
Biophysics, co-advised with Martin Gruebele.

Melanie Brunet
Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, co-advised with Mary Kraft (primary lab).
Predoctoral Fellow, NIH

Bryan Gworek
co-advised with Kai Zhang.

Undergraduate Students

Zaeem Qureshi
Major: Biomedical Engineering
Minor: Computer Science
Class 2026

Anika Hong
Major: Bioengineering
Class 2026

Hajun Lee
Major: Bioengineering
Class 2026

Juan David Campolargo
Major: Engineering
Class of 2024
McNair Scholar, 2022 (offered)
IBM Scholar, SRC URP, UIUC, 2021-2022
Undergraduate Research Apprentice Program (URAP), Graduate College, 2021

Visiting Researchers

Tulga-Erdene Sodjargal
Bio and Brain Engineering
KAIST, Class of 2026
Visiting Undergraduate Researcher


Andrew Sunwoo Lee
Major: Chemistry
Class of 2023
Fiddler Innovation Fellow, NCSA, 2021
NCSA SPIN Internship, 2020-2023
Theodore and Audrey Brown Chemistry Scholarship, 2020
Robert H. Doremus Chemistry Scholarship, 2020

Mayank Boob
Biophysics, co-advised with Martin Gruebele.
Protein Society Anniversary Award, 2021

Position after: Research Scientist, Cambrex

Meredith Rickard
Chemistry, co-advised with Martin Gruebele.
Member, Climate Committee, Department of Chemistry, 2020-Present
Student representative, Biopolymers in vivo Subgroup, Biophysical Society, 2020
The Geerdes Memorial Travel Award in Physical Chemistry, 2019
Physical Chemistry Dissertation Award, UIUC, 2022

Position after: Research Scientist, Merck Research

Haolin Luo
Major: Biochemisty
Class of 2022
Jackson Merit award for Outstanding thesis, 2022
Highest Distinction, 2022
Fiddler Innovation Fellow, NCSA, 2021
NCSA SPIN Internship, 2021-Present
Jackson Summer Research Fellowship, Department of Biochemistry, 2021
NCSA Director’s Recognition, 2021

Position after: Ph.D. studies, Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California San Diego

Ashley De Lio
Postdoctoral Fellow, NCSA & Cyprus Institute, Department of Chemistry
Member, Early Career Committee, Biophysical Society, 2020-2022
Chair, Computational Aspects of Biomolecular NMR, GRS 2021 (elected)

Position after: Senior Content Writer, Indegene

Zachary Wang
Majors: Engineering Physics and Molecular and Cellular Biology Class of 2020
2020 Philip J. and Betty M. Anthony Undergraduate Research Prize, Department of Physics
2020 BPS Travel Award to attend the Annual Meeting in San Diego
2019-2020 NCSA SPIN Internship
2019 NCSA Director’s Recognition

Position after graduation: Ph.D. studies Schöneberg Lab, Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of California San Diego

Riya Jain
Major: Computer Science+Chemistry
Class of 2022
The Dow Undergraduate Summer Research Scholar, 2019

Position after: Technology Intern, State Farm; undergraduate studies, CS+Chem, UIUC

Artem Mustaev
Major: Aerospace engineering
Class of 2023
Undergraduate and high school research associate 2018-2020
The James Scholars Honor Program, UIUC, 2019

Position after: undergraduate researcher, Aerospace Engineering, UIUC

Alexander Bieniek
B.S. Computer Science+Chemistry, 2019. Undergraduate research associate, 2018-2019

Position after graduation:
Software Engineer/Consultant, Maven Wave

Mike Hallock
School of Chemical Sciences and the Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology. Research software developer, 2016-2018

Position after: 
Head of Software Development, SimBioSys Inc.

Yi Zhang
Ph.D. Biophysics, 2018. Graduate research associate co-advised with Martin Gruebele, 2016-2018

Position after graduation:
Statistical Quant Analyst, Vice-President, SunTrust

Ashley Washington
B.S. Majors: Chemistry and Nursing, Minor: Chinese, 2018. Undergraduate research associate, 2018.

Position after graduation:
ICU nurse, OSF HealthCare

Visiting Researchers

Yun Xia
Majors: Theoretical and Computational Chemistry, Pekin University, China
Class of 2020
Summers 2020, 2019

Pedro G. Castineira
Major: Chemistry
The Fried Lab
Johns Hopkins University
Summer 2020

Atreyo Pal
Graduate Student, Biophysics
Yale University
Summer 2020